Crazy Love

Last semester in a class of 50 people, two I knew fairly well, I met someone who allowed me to borrow a book of theirs. I still have it now and am going to do my best to finish it before the end of February. It’s called Crazy Love and is written by Francis Chan, a pastor of a church in California.

Today, I picked it up again and was shocked by how true his words spoke about my relationship with God right now. I have been so selfish with the time God has given me, spending it only on my own ambitions. It got me thinking… Time for a new blog post!

I began this blog for a reason- to share God’s good news. However, it has become more of a way to deal with every day life and focus more on what God is telling me in scripture. I’m not a cookie-cutter Christian, I forget to read the Bible, I miss church on Sundays, I forget God is in control and put the pressure all on myself. It’s time for me to take a step back and reevaluate my relationship with Christ. Maybe it’s your turn to do this as well.

“Do not assume you are good soil.”

If you were good soil, God’s goodness would be reaping from your every move, every thought, every word, but it’s not. We are sinful people.

When we want God and a bunch of other things, then that means we have thorns in our soil. A relationship with God simply can’t grow when money, sins, activities, favorite sports teams, or commitments are piled on top of it.

“Too much of the good life ends up being toxic, deforming us spiritually.” -David Goetz

We need to compare every aspect of our life to scripture to find some of the tiniest thorns. What are your thorns?

Lukewarm Believers

I believe most of us are lukewarm believers. We put God in a box and shove him under our bed and only pull him out when it is convenient for us. If you are in agreement that any of the below statements are true for you, then you too are a lukewarm believer:

  • Attend church regularly because it’s what is expected
  • Give money to charity and church as long as it doesn’t hinder your standard of living
  • Choose what is popular over what is right when in a conflict
  • Don’t really want to be saved from your sin
  • Moved by stories about people who do radical things for Christ, yet don’t act
  • Rarely share your faith with neighbors, coworkers, or friend because it may seem uncool or uncomfortable to talk about
  • Gauge your “goodness” by comparing yourself to the secular world
  • Say you love Jesus but say he is only a part of your life
  • Love God, but not with all of your heart, soul, and strength
  • Love others but don’t seek to love them as much as you love yourself
  • Will serve God and others within limits
  • Think about life on earth more often than eternity in heaven
  • Thankful for your luxuries and comforts, and rarely consider trying to give as much as possible to the poor
  • Do whatever is necessary to keep yourself from feeling too guilty
  • Continually concerned with playing it safe
  • Don’t live by faith; your life is structured so you don’t have to
  • Drink and swear less than average, but aren’t very different from the typical believer

Are you a lukewarm believer?

I won’t lie to you, I’m a lukewarm believer, my family and friends are lukewarm believers. It’s hard to find scalding-hot-for-God believers. Don’t fret. You can become one too.

Jesus didn’t say that if you wanted to follow Him you could do it in a lukewarm manner. He said, “Take up your cross and follow me.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Crazy Love

  1. Terry Meinders

    I’m right there with you Lauren – don’t want to be, but I am. I don’t know why it’s such a struggle, but it is. This reminds me so much of Romans 7 and the unfortunate reality that we really are in a struggle, with a powerful opponent. Fortunately there is the good news that follows in Romans 8.

    If we’re thinking about this, I’d say that’s a good thing, and I don’t know that we’ll ever feel differently, this side of eternity. Keep being awesome and God bless!

Leave a Reply

